Big Baseball Trip Take Two!

So, back in 2011 I got dad to go to Seattle with me to watch our Braves play the Mariners.  We had to go so that we could see Chipper Jones play, since we weren’t sure if it would be his last year or not.  He went on to play the 2012 season, but he decided that it was his last.  It was amazing watching him go from city to city, receiving gifts from teams, and being cheered by fans, fans that understood what kind of player he was.  That brings me to the announcement that was made earlier this week.

June 28th, 2013, the date the Atlanta Braves will retire Chipper’s number, the date that mom, dad, and I will be in attendance.  The tickets go on pre-sale Friday, and I will be waking up as if it were Christmas to buy three.  I pretty much don’t care what they might cost, I just want to get good seats for the ceremony, and for the game that follows it.  Then Saturday dad and I will go back to the Ted for another game, and mom will chill back at the hotel I imagine.

I will have to figure out what else to do in Atlanta, because I have only ever wanted to go so I could see the Braves play at home.  I do know that it will be a great trip to take with the family, and it will have some awesome highlights, so that isn’t a problem.

So, why do I HAVE to go to this ceremony?

I have to go because Chipper Jones is my all time favorite player and the Braves are my team.  Chipper Jones played for the Braves for over half my life, he was what I knew of that team even before I got to diehard fan status.  Over the years there were highs and lows, but there was always Chipper.  I followed more and more closely, and there was always Chipper.  I invested more time and money into my love for the Braves, and there was always Chipper.  This season will be different, there is no Chipper.

Sure, he will always have a place with the team on some level, you don’t play your whole career for one team and not get that, but he will no longer be on the field, he will no longer be at the plate, and that is an adjustment that will be hard to make.  That’s sports for you though, the team goes on, and so do we.  Sometimes we like where it takes us, and sometimes we question it all, but our love for them does not diminish.

I look forward to seeing how the Braves will celebrate a man I have cheered for, for years.  I look forward to hearing from those that are there to honor him, and from Chipper himself.  I look forward to realizing a dream of mine, seeing the Braves play at home, and I look forward to sharing that with my folks.

Chipper Jones is not just another baseball player.  Chipper Jones is one of the best switch hitters the game has ever seen.  Chipper Jones is one of the best third basemen the game has ever seen.  Chipper Jones is a 1st ballot hall of fame player, who played the game of baseball the way it was meant to be.  His accomplishments speak for themselves, and his numbers don’t lie.  Chipper Jones is the real deal, and I cannot wait to help thousands of fellow fans celebrate his career.

June 28th, you’ve giving me something to look forward too, and I cannot wait to see Atlanta in it’s full glory.

Author: sosayssadorf

I am learning as I go, something I always pledged to do. Sometimes it is harder than others, but I strive to learn and grow as necessary. Periodically I will pop in to empty my brain, hopefully you enjoy it and decide to take this little trip with me.

Leave a comment